Range report. You get what you pay for

I overslept this morning, but woke up in time to get to the range by 11:30. I usually prefer arriving early, they open at 11:00. I just like it better when I am the only one shooting or one of just a few. There was only two other guys there, so I had the place nearly to myself. This was my third trip since buying my new Sig P250 c .45 and I focused mostly on quicker firing today. Getting the gun up, sighted, and firing on target was my aim, and I was interested in how a less deliberate pace would affect my accuracy. I shot at various ranges 7-11 yards, and increased my rate of fire as I went, with my last two magazines used up as quickly as I could pull the trigger. The results?

100 rounds fired, with 98 shots in the 8,9,10 circles, both of those in the 7 circle happened while shooting my first magazine. Of the 98 in the 8-10 circles, 75 were in the 9-10. So, my accuracy was actually a bit above usual. After sweeping up, I cannot believe everyone does NOT sweep up their brass, I went into the shop and purchased a new gun case, and a box of Federal Personal Defense bullets, and chatted with the owner a bit, as usual. Today I told him about a co-worker who I had heard bashing gun owners because “they never trained, or became effective with our guns”. I was amused last week when this same fellow asked me what I did on days off. When I told him Friday’s generally mean a trip to the range, he looked put off, asking me what I got out of shooting. I told him that I do enjoy shooting, but that a large part of visiting the range is to become as proficient with my guns as possible, just in case. This made him look even more put off.

Funny how Liberals think isn’t it? First they rail about how gun owners ought to practice but then criticize us when we DO invest time and effort into training.

Anyway, after that I went home, cleaned my gun, the take down on a Sig is super simple, and so is reassembling it, so cleaning is pretty easy. Those folks at Sig really do make great guns, which brings me back to my original point, which is sometimes you DO get what you pay for. My Taurus PT 140 .40 S&W is a fine gun, I have put well over 2,000 rounds through it with no problems, but after just 300 rounds with my Sig, I am already far more accurate and consistent with it. Yes, the Sig is more money than a Taurus, and I have one of the least expensive Sig Sauers, but the Sig is a superior gun, better sights, better ergonomics, super simple maintenance. I would never tell anyone what type of gun to buy, but, I will remind y’all that I have named Sig Sauer the OFFICIAL gun maker of this blog, so………….

One thought on “Range report. You get what you pay for

Leave a Reply

