Sometimes what the media does not tell you, can be more informative than what they do tell you

I was at work today, and CNN was on one of the TVs at the bar, we put two on sports, one on the news, and I always used to put Fox on, but one of my bosses prefers CNN, so, well…. Anyway, when the news that a teachers body had been found in some woods near Danvers High School broke, I watched to see what had happened. After a few minutes, I noted to one of the costumers that the teacher had likely been stabbed, maybe beaten, or strangled to death. They asked me how I knew, since the news had not reported the likely cause of the teacher’s demise. Not knowing the political bent of this gentleman, I avoided saying why I reached such a conclusion, which is if the teacher had been shot the media would be focused solely on what kind of gun, was there a high capacity magazine involved, and could it have been an AR-15, and did stand your ground laws cause this tragedy. Instead I just said it was a gut feeling. A gut feeling that a fellow blogger, some guy named McCain shares it seems

 

Saw this headline at Memeorandum:

14-year-old student held without bail
in slaying of Danvers High teacher

The story doesn’t say how the teacher was killed, but the fact that MSNBC wasn’t running a gun-control telethon was a clue that she probably wasn’t shot to death. 

Like the headline says, you can learn a lot fro the media, if you pay attention to what they do not say.

 

Leave a Reply

