The Left, having no value for truth, honesty, integrity, or anything else besides getting their way of course, has no problem with printing absolute falsehoods like the ones in this editorial bemoaning the prospect of national concealed carry reciprocity. It seems the Times is aggrieved that liberty and greater ability to self-defense might soon be coming
One of the first Second Amendment issues that President-elect Trump promises to address is legislation regarding national concealed carry reciprocity. The language in several bills already proposed varies somewhat, but the general theme is that if you have a concealed carry permit in one state, it should be honored in all states.
The Los Angeles Times editorial board is upset over the legislation, because they’ve convinced themselves that the law will somehow endanger public safety.
First come the scare tactics
At the top of LaPierre’s wish list is an absurd and dangerous federal law to require any state that issues permits for carrying concealed weapons to recognize similar permits issued by other states, even if they have different eligibility and training requirements and even if they have less stringent restrictions on gun ownership. Proponents of so-called concealed-carried reciprocity equate it with state driver’s licenses, which are recognized nationwide. But that’s a false comparison. All states follow similar standards for issuing driver’s licenses, and basic vehicle and traffic laws are largely standardized. That’s not so for gun laws, which vary widely by state, not to mention that county and city governments are allowed to enact their own restrictions based on local needs and preferences.
Now come the lies
The reciprocity movement is nothing more than an effort to drive states’ concealed-carry laws to the lowest common denominator. Consider Utah, for instance. To qualify for a Utah permit, which is available to nonresidents and is already accepted by 36 other states, one need only be 21 years old, not be deemed ineligible under federal laws (no felony conviction or history of drug and alcohol abuse, for instance) and complete a Utah-certified Weapons Familiarity course, which can be taken outside the state. In fact, Utah has certified 169 instructors in California alone. Utah’s limited restrictions have made the issuance of concealed-carry permits something of a cottage industry for the state. Two-thirds of Utah’s 632,276 permits as of the end of last year were in the hands of nonresidents.
So, the Times says anyone can just get a permit to carry from Utah do they? Ah no, here is what is actually required
Who is Eligible?
*Minimum requirements for application for a concealed firearms permit in Utah are:
- Applicant must be at least 21 years of age
- Proof of good character…whereas the applicant;
- has not been convicted of a felony;
- has not been convicted of any crime of violence;
- has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol;
- has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances;
- has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude;
- has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence;
- has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed
- is qualified to purchase and possess a firearm pursuant to Section 76-10-503 and federal law
*A criminal background check is conducted for all applicants.
But the Times conveniently left this part out
What Must Accompany the Application?
- A Photocopy of your state issued Driver License
- Photograph. One recent color photograph of passport quality. *Photos may be taken at the Bureau of Criminal Identification for a $15 fee.
- Non-resident proof of permit. If you reside in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah CFP or has reciprocity with Utah, you must obtain a CFP or CCW from your home state and submit a copy of it with your application for a Utah permit. For a list of reciprocal states click here. You are considered a resident of whichever state issued your ID. If your state does not recognize the Utah permit this does not apply.
- Fingerprint Card. One fingerprint card. Must be filled out completely. Writing and prints must be legible. Fingerprint should be taken by a trained fingerprint technician. Fingerprint cards that are not legible will be returned to the applicant and will cause a delay in processing the application.
So, you also need to be licensed in YOUR state of residence. So you DO have to follow the laws in YOUR state. So, the Times LIES! It lies to frighten people, to make them afraid and to demonize the NRA. And they lie in a most egregious fashion
A federal reciprocity law, depending on its final wording, could require California to recognize concealed-carry permits issued in Utah and other states, which it chooses not to do. A California resident could simply apply for a permit from Utah and start walking around Los Angeles with a hidden handgun, no matter what California voters and lawmakers say.
Ah, no. Utah requires the applicant to have a license in their state of residence. A California resident would have to be licensed IN California to carry. Utah will not issue a permit to someone NOT licensed in their state of residence A reciprocity law would merely make the permit of a Utha resident legal in California. the Times editorial board eith does not grasp the law or they bare, well lying.