Why yes, a business should be allowed to ban customers as it chooses

It is called liberty, and it can be messy. So, if a restaurant wants to ban those it disagrees with ideologically, that is their right, or at least it ought to be. Surely it is a business model doomed to fail badly. Let’s face it, a business needs customers to succeed, and banning certain people is not an astute business move. But, personally, I would prefer to know I am not welcome, so I can go elsewhere

Honolulu’s Café 8 ½ gets rave reviews on Yelp for its “Radiatore Verde” and “Italian stir fry,” among other popular dishes at the eclectic mom-and-pop restaurant – but the response to its new ‘policy’ barring pro-Trump patrons has been decidedly more mixed.

A bright yellow, handmade sign posted on the restaurant’s front glass door declares: “If you voted for Trump you cannot eat here! No Nazis.”

Ok, fine, if I am ever in Honolulu, I will not go to that eatery. There are other restaurants. And no, I would never support a law forcing that restaurant to serve me. I believe in liberty, and one liberty of great importance is freedom of association. I value that far more than anyone’s hurt feelings, even my own

One thought on “Why yes, a business should be allowed to ban customers as it chooses

Leave a Reply

