How can some great artists be so foolish?

….but, as Animal Magnetism points out, some of the lyrics are, well, deeply inane

When I was a kid back in the Seventies, there was a song by the British band Ten Year After called I’d Love To Change The World.  That song included these lyrics:

Tax the rich, feed the poor

‘Till there are no rich no more

Even the seventeen-year old me thought that was stupid.  “If there are no rich no more,” I remember thinking, “who the hell is going to feed the poor then?”  These lyrics seemed to that younger me to describe the very folly of killing the goose that lays the golden eggs.

Yep, I loved that song musically, but the lyrics? Based in nonsense on top of more nonsense. But, like Animal, I find it is John Lennon’s Imagine that takes the Cake of Idiocy

I loathe this song.  I’ve been called a heartless bastard for saying so, but I nevertheless loathe this song.  it’s the worst sort of mushy-headed puffery masquerading as some kind of high ideals.  Consider:

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people sharing all the world

Oh good grief! Could Lennon have been more foolish? Yet, Leftists still buy into this garbage today, and, basically, if you break it down, the lyrics seem to echo today’s Democratic Party rhetoric. Wealth is greed, possessions are bad, Individualism is to be rejected……………

Intellectual? No, just failed, foolish ideas fools cling to

2 thoughts on “How can some great artists be so foolish?

  1. Pingback: Goodbye, Blue Monday | Animal Magnetism

  2. This has always been a real station turner for me. Not that I give a flying shit about the band, they just slap this bullshit on the station I listen to from time to time.

    Signs
    Five Man Electrical Band
    And the sign said “Long-haired freaky people need not apply”
    So I tucked my hair up under my hat and I went in to ask him why
    He said “You look like a fine upstanding young man, I think you’ll do”
    So I took off my hat, I said “Imagine that. Huh! Me workin’ for you!”
    Whoa-oh-oh
    Sign, sign, everywhere a sign
    Blockin’ out the scenery, breakin’ my mind
    Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign?
    And the sign said anybody caught trespassin’ would be shot on sight
    So I jumped on the fence and-a yelled at the house
    “Hey! What gives you the right?”
    “To put up a fence to keep me out or to keep mother nature in”
    “If God was here he’d tell you to your face, man, you’re some kinda sinner”

Leave a Reply

